Onions

Today is so nice out I decided the onions and garlic had cured long enough so I hauled them all outside to clean up and trim before putting them in winter storage.

Photo Sep 02, 10 47 15 AM

I planted fewer than I did last year and, fortunately, wasn’t plagued with another round of that fungus that attacked them. What I don’t get is why there is such a disparity of size among them.

Photo Sep 02, 10 47 50 AM

Granted, they start out as different sized plants from the garden center, but not this different! They all went in the same bed and at the same time so I can’t blame soil or water differences. The sizes were all mixed up in the bed. Maybe next year I’ll try fertilizing them, or fertilizing some and not others and see if that makes a difference. In the meantime, it’s kind of nice to be able to select just as much onion as I need for a recipe and not have to put leftover bits in the refrigerator.

3 thoughts on “Onions

  1. I have not grown onions but for instance our apples and potatoes are always different sizes. Do you think that this is just natural? I wonder if we are getting used to seeing the fruit and veg in supermarkets which are carefully size graded. As you say though, it is handy to have different sizes. Amelia

  2. Looks like a very nice crop. I thought you had two different types mixed together in the right hand basket before reading your post – afrenchgarden makes a great point about our expectations.

Leave a Reply

