Sorting the Sowing Schedule

The leeks are reaching up and ready for their first haircut—right on schedule!

Photo Mar 04, 6 08 07 AM

I’m trying something different this year with my garden planning. In the past I’ve used different schedules for starting seeds, transplanting, and sowing in sort of a mishmash blend. These are spread out on different calendars and tables from a variety of sources ranging from completely local to vaguely regional to purely theoretical. Recently I sat down with all this information and attempted to wrestle it into a simpler, more usable schedule specific to what I actually grow. The biggest source of inspiration is a chart I got from a local market farmer at a workshop on making a garden produce like a farm.

The most helpful thing I got from this chart is the scheduling of succession plantings. I’ve got a track record of planting an entire crop all at once, then having, for example, more lettuce than we can eat followed later by the dreaded lettuce lack. The farm’s chart shows numbered, regularly-timed sowings of crops in an easy to understand system. I used that system to transcribe all my different sources into one chart of my own that I’ll test out this year. Each week has a separate section for seed starting, transplanting and sowing. My intention is to make notes and adjust as I go along, if necessary. I might even make some notes of harvests just for reference. Next winter I can look it over for what worked and what didn’t, make the adjustments I need and apply it again the following growing season. For now, I’ve got thirty weeks of the year all planned out. Consulting the schedule it says it’s week 4 and time to sow the peppers!

2 thoughts on “Sorting the Sowing Schedule

  1. Kimberly

    Hi Mark, the chart you found sounds very useful. I don’t do anything that detailed but would really benefit from that kind of structure. I too often end up with a lot of all then nothing. Any chance of you emailing me a pic of the chart? (I’m more of a visual person) I would love to try and make one up for my garden. Thanks so much

    1. Hi Kimberly, I’ve posted a followup with an image of the first page of the chart. I guess I should have thought of that in the previous post. Let me know if you do something similar and how it works for you.

Leave a Reply

