The Lentils, or Not

I sometimes ponder the advantages and disadvantages of having to drive or ride my bicycle the 1.33 miles or 2.15 kilometers from our front door to our garden plot. On the one hand, we can actually get to it. I’m grateful for the access and mobility I have. On the other hand, at this time of year not all visits are leisurely. I don’t always have the gift of unhurried attention. Too often there’s a brief stop to do the quick, few tasks on a list and then rushing reluctantly off to work or the other, next important thing. If the garden were just outside my back door I could spend an hour or hours over it daily, but that’s not the case. And so it was that I lost track of the lentils.

 Lentils

One of this year’s “experimental” crops was lentils. We eat a fair amount of these little legumes and when I realized we had a hefty supply of seed in the cupboard I decided to give them a go. Months later I can only say, “Well, that didn’t work.”

The plants flourished (literally) so I was anticipating success. But over time I sort of lost track of them amidst the onion woes, garlic harvest, broccoligasm, and so on. Today I finally took a really good look at the small patch and was excited to see the number of pods! I pinched one. It was empty. Most of them were. There was an abundance of empty pods but I couldn’t find any lentils on the ground. A few pods had what felt like a hard seed inside, but they were green and/or tiny. Either most of the lentils never developed or fell to the ground to be consumed by someone other than me before I could get them.

So it goes in agriculture. You take your chances and sometimes they pay off and sometimes they don’t. It pays to diversify, by the way.

I’ve got some fall seedlings started—Chinese cabbage for one. I’ll likely chop off  the lentil plants when the cabbage is ready to transplant and plug it in there. They at least should have fixed some nitrogen into the soil which will be helpful for a leafy crop. In the meantime I’ve made a mental note to try to allow enough time every time I visit the garden to look at every single crop and see how it’s doing. That may or may not have made a difference in the lentil experiment, but it’s probably a good practice to cultivate until I can just step outside the back door to check on the garden.

6 thoughts on “The Lentils, or Not

  1. It’s so nice to be able to grow something. Even though you didn’t get a lentil harvest, the plant itself is pretty! I’ve had some good luck this year as well as not so good. For some reason I didn’t get a single squash…and that’s a fool proof plant! Ugh…next year! Have a wonderful day! Koko 🙂

      1. Hahahaha! Nah, I will be totally happy for you! I had a bad infestation of squash bugs. They were imbedded in my yard for two years! And worse, when you squished them they’d emit a really bad smell.

  2. Pingback: The Lentils, or Not | Shady Character | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

Leave a Reply

