Tomato Color!

Two of my tomatoes are showing some color! I got a little arty with the images to make them stand out, but the color you see is the color they were.

Mexico Midget

This is ‘Mexico Midget.’ It should be red when it’s fully ripe, I believe. We got this one because we liked it so much at a Seed Savers Exchange tomato tasting we attended.

Indigo Apple 2

The other front-runner in the color department is ‘Indigo Apple.’ I was surprised it was developing so much of its purple hue this early on. This cultivar is a tank. The stem is sturdy and thick so while I’ve started tying up all the other ones, these are standing on their own. Very different from what I’m used to.

It’s been a few days since I took these pictures so, despite the fact it’s rained almost every day since, I wouldn’t be surprised if one or the other was ready to pick should I make it up there today.

6 thoughts on “Tomato Color!

  1. I like the way you did those photographs it does highlight the tomatoes very well. We were late with our tomatoes this year because of our holidays and they are still small and green. Amelia

  2. lindamartha

    Great photography on this blog and wonderful effects on the tomatoes. We are not far from Seed Savers ourselves and meant to take a drive out but things caught up with us. We loved their demonstration garden on past visits.

  3. Pingback: Taste Testing Times Two | Shady Character

  4. Pingback: Taste Testing Times Two | Shady Character | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  5. Pingback: Garden Green – Driftless Roots

Leave a Reply

