Seed Starting for the Poorly Prepared

I can’t believe it’s been nearly a month since I shared any of my fascinating goings-on here. Believe me, I haven’t been just sitting around–much, at least. March is the month when I seem to emerge from the winter inertia along with the plants and critters outdoors.

American Flag Leek

Seed starting actually commenced weeks ago with the onions, shallots and leeks. Here are the American Flag leeks waving their seed coats up toward the shop lights. Today they got their first haircut.

In the time since the leeks and their ilk were sown I started a few other things as well. Then last weekend I got started on my favorites, the tomatoes and peppers. In the past my system was to sow a couple of seeds together in a tall, 2” pot. I have tons of these around from back when I grew Paphiopedilum orchids. If both of the seeds germinated I would just snip off the weaker one. If neither germinated I’d have wasted the space that barren pot was taking. This year I decided to sow multiple seeds in 4” pots and since they shouldn’t be in there too long and need a lot of root room, I cut the pots shorter for easy access. Or, at least I started doing that after I realized what a pain it is to get to seedlings in a pot as tall as they are. (See left-hand pot of leeks above.)

Early Jalapeno

Anyway, after potting up a few kinds of peppers as seen above, I realized I didn’t have nearly enough pots. Either I hid them very well from myself or I purged a little too aggressively last fall. As I was contemplating driving out to the garden center yet again, I was hit with a brainstorm…

Paper Pot

Paper pots! I quickly rolled and folded up a bunch and I was back in business.

2015-03-15 11.42.17

See how meticulously I placed the seeds in the potting mix? I also labeled the tags with the number planted in each pot.

Paper Pots in Use

Once the plants have reached the size where they can be transplanted I’ll move them up to individual 4” pots. Those will be plastic pots because they will be more durable for moving around under the lights and transporting out to the garden when they are ready. I’ll have plenty of time to get out to the garden center before then. I’d better start making a list.

8 thoughts on “Seed Starting for the Poorly Prepared

  1. I love newspaper pots, and when I use them for ornamentals, I just plunge the pot straight into the ground (never for vegetables as you just don’t know what’s in the ink). Spring jobs certainly look like they are in full swing for you 🙂

    1. The lentils sprout so fast I think I’ll wait until closer to transplant time or direct sow them when the ground is warm. Have to remind myself that that’s a couple of months from now.

  2. Pingback: Seed Starting for the Poorly Prepared | Shady Character | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  3. A great solution! I have never used paper pots before (even though they sound like fun). Because I get so many pots from people who bought plants at a nursery and do not reuse them themselves, I have never had a shortage. But will keep this in mind 🙂

Leave a Reply

