Fun February Find

There was an exciting discovery in the back yard today.

Birdhouse

A couple of weeks ago I noticed something hanging on the back fence. It turned out to be a broken birdhouse packed full of mouse nest stuff. It’s not our birdhouse so I presume the previous neighbors found it and just hung it there.  I retrieved it intending to clean it out, put a new roof on it and hang it up somewhere this spring. Just now, as I started pulling out the nest I noticed what I thought were some discarded nut shells.

Coccoons

A closer look revealed something much more exciting. The birdhouse had become a beehouse. Those are old bumblebee cocoons!

Last year I put out an actual bumblebee house  hoping to attract a queen but didn’t have any luck. Now I’m wondering if this could be salvaged as a home attractive to bumblebees once again.

Nest Closeup

I’m going to consult with a couple of sources much more knowledgeable about such things on how to proceed. Having a  living bumblebee nest to observe in the yard would be the coolest.

2 thoughts on “Fun February Find

  1. Pingback: Scavenging for Bee Homes | Shady Character

  2. Pingback: Another Accommodation and Another Native Bee | Shady Character

Leave a Reply

