Not What I Expected

Today I made what was probably my last trip to the garden for the year. The aim was to harvest the last of the parsnips before the ground freezes much more. There were only a handful left. The few that I had dug up previously were really tasty. They were also surprisingly long and straight considering how much clay there is in the garden’s soil. Not so with today’s harvest! Most of these roots were forked and twisted like crazy. Only one was somewhat straight. A couple had wound around each other and intertwined but I managed to wiggle them apart. Another reminder that if I’m going to grow more root crops next year like I plan to I’m going to have to do some more soil prep.

2 thoughts on “Not What I Expected

  1. I couldn’t help noticing your parsnips on my stroll through the WordPress gardening blogs… They are my favorite winter crop out here in Oregon. I always get a few that look like that as well. They still taste good. I noticed you were considering beekeeping… I’ve been doing it for years, and learned from my dad who grew up in Wisconsin. I post occasionally on my beekeeping trials and tribulations, seed saving, and winter gardening in Oregon (and other topics).

Leave a Reply

