Pickled Beets and Eggs

Yesterday I was contemplating the heap of beets accumulating in the crisper drawer and wondering what I was going to do with all of them. As luck would have it, I had managed to harvest some of the Burpee’s Golden when they were still small–just the right size for pickling. For some added interest, I decided to include a few hard-boiled eggs.

In the past I’ve pickled the typical red beets together with eggs. The color from the beets works its way into the egg white giving it a rosy pink color. While the color of the golden beets isn’t as intense as the red ones, I’m hoping to end up with some golden eggs. They may not protect us from a failing economy, but they’ll be fun to eat.

The recipe I used is the “Spicy Pickled Beets” in the Ball Blue Book Guide to Preserving, a book I highly recommend to anyone looking to try canning and pickling. As you can see in this shot of the finished product, I didn’t use the recommended two-part lid canning jars. I’m treating this batch as refrigerator pickles that will be eaten up in a relatively short time. Now I just have to have the patience to wait a few days for the flavors to develop before I can taste the results!

Leave a Reply

