Increase

Yesterday I picked the last of one varieties of beans I grew to dry this season. It’s Jacob’s Cattle Gasless. As luck would have it, I had a record of how much I planted. Compared to what I harvested, discounting the bad ones I threw away, I got out twenty-four times as much as I put in. The ounce of seed I planted yielded a pound and a half of dried beans. I’m curious now to see how that yield relates to other beans.

Were I to save all these beans, plant them next year and get a comparable harvest, I would be looking at a full thirty-six pounds of beans! My guess is that that is more beans than we eat in a year. We definitely wouldn’t eat the 864 pounds we’d have the year after that if I did the same.

Leave a Reply

